Aalto IT Help

View content in another language: suomi

Sharing a calendar outside of Aalto

You can share the calendar in Aalto email so it can be viewed outside of Aalto also (Internet Calendar Publishing). A shared calendar shows when the user is free/busy (Availability only = free/busy). The headings and contents of calendar events are shown only to the user.

However, you can adjust the settings to show an extended calendar view (Limited details / Full details).

A calendar can be published at Aalto via Webmail (https://mail.aalto.fi).

Logging in to Webmail https://mail.aalto.fi

Start sharing the calendar

1. Log in to Webmail at https://mail.aalto.fi

2. Select Options below the wheel icon in the top right corner of the page.

options.jpg

3. From the list in the left corner, select General and Publish calendar.

publisher calendar.jpg

4. The Calendar in the first box is your own calendar. If you have another own calendar you want to publish, choose it from the selection list that opens from the triangle.

select calendar and permissions.jpg

5. Select visibility at item Select permissions. Availability only shows only the free/busy details of your calendar.

6. Save the changes by clicking Save.

7. You will be shown HTML and ICS links you can send to those with whom you want to share your calendar.

You can also start sharing the calendar via the calendar in Windows Outlook

1. In the calendar view, select Publish Online: Publish This Calendar, and you will move to the Webmail log-in window.

Outlook publish online.jpg

2. Log in to Webmail, and you will directly enter item 4 in the previous instructions. Select your calendar.

3. Continue following the previous instructions according to items 5 and 6.

Stop sharing the calendar

1. Log in to Webmail at https://mail.aalto.fi

2. Select Options below the wheel icon in the top right corner of the page.

options.jpg

3. From the list in the left corner, select General and Publish calendar.

publisher calendar.jpg

4. Select the calendar you are sharing.

5. Select the box Select permissionsNot shared.

6. Save the changes by clicking Save.

Contact information will be used only in case we need more information about feedback.
Please send only feedback about this instruction. If you have IT-related problems, please send a request to servicedesk@aalto.fi